I Have A Dream

Days like these
(they make me cry)
Honestly
you think I’m such a fool,
a fool for love,
a fool for hope,
a fool for peace,
a fool fallen to the
tricks of a thread-bare society

It’s fabric,
torn and tattered, and
just leaving shattered
hearts along the route,
along the road of poverty
glance at the discrimination
of criminals and not,
of those desperate and not,
of suit and tie and of musician,
of corporate man, of artist woman

Honestly, what is this world
that we happen to live in,
(it’s by chance)
not by fate,
that our cold, cold
society
chilled this very way

Let’s warm it up
Clap your hands
Send puffs of warmth
through hope
wrapped up in confidence,
send an upvote
don’t cling to shame

You think I’m a fool
for trying to change,
something that is…
broken.

But how do you think
I managed to fix myself?
A mangled piece of machinery, knuckles barely bone,
metal barely flesh,
heart on the cusp of failure,
blood barely
blood.

If we all take a step
Maybe even two
(it’s worth the effort, honey)
for Martin Luther King
Jr had a dream,
and I have one, too.

I’m fifteen years old, and
Days like these
they make me cry,
with the hope that
I have a dream but
we can make it a
reality.

Below is the excerpt of the speech that inspired me:

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

I have a dream today!

— Excerpt from Martin Luther King, Jr.’s speech, I Had A Dream
Leave a Reply

